Who we are

Young Focus has been working with children and their families in the Smokey Mountain area of Tondo, Manila, since 2008. Young Focus started in the Smokey Mountain area with 225 beneficiaries in 2008. In the present school year 2023/2024 Young Focus has a total of 936 beneficiaries.

Young Focus believes that education is the most powerful tool to overcome poverty for children and young adults. Young Focus enrolls children from elementary school age to college into government education, providing them with extra tutorials, life skills training, personal coaching and social support. Children who have dropped out of school, can join our ‘catch-up’ education programs and then enroll (again) in school. Young Focus also has a preschool for 3+4-year-olds. Throughout the child’s education, Young Focus supports the parents by providing teaching and coaching programs.

Our Vision

Young Focus’ vision is to improve the mental, physical and social well-being of young people in poor communities by means of education, health care and personal support.

Our Mission

Young Focus gives underprivileged children and young people the chance to develop themselves intellectually, emotionally, psychologically, and spiritually by means of education and personal coaching.
Young Focus wants to see young people developing their (hidden) talents and gifts and, in doing so, escape the vicious circle of poverty. Young Focus gives a brighter future to children from poverty-stricken families in the Philippines. In order to be as effective as possible, Young Focus works directly with the children in their own environment.

Our dedicated staff are the beating heart of everything we do


Annual Report 2023

It’s great to have a report every year to present to you on what the impact is of our programs! We desire to see the children experience a changed mindset so they believe they can have a better situation than their parents, and have the self-confidence and independence to create their own path in life to end the cycle of poverty. This year includes testimonies of young people showing the impact that education has had on their lives. Feel free to download Annual Report 2023 here.

Our Board in the Philippines

Mike Turvill (President)
Suneil Bharwani (Vice President)
Hannah Yulo (Treasurer)
Elizabeth Yu (Secretary)
Iris Gokeelao (Board Member)
Martin Fernandez (Board Member)
Paul van Wijgerden (Ex Officio)

Our Board in the Netherlands

Netty Visser (President)
Piet Huibers (Treasurer)
Jannet de Jong (Secretary)
Caroline van Wijgerden (Board Member)

Some of our donors (and there are many others!)

opening hours

Tue-Sat: 9am – 6pm


284 Dayao Str., Tondo, Manila


+63 (2)8252-8848

Sign up for our Newsletter!